Non-cows' milk alternatives include:
- Sardines, herring and whitebait (ie small fish that are often eaten with the bones still in)
- Sesame seeds
- Green leafy vegetables, especially watercress.
- Oat, almond, coconut (KoKo), soy and rice milks and associated products – just make sure they are unsweetened, non-flavoured and are fortified with calcium.
- Goats’ and sheeps’ milk and associated products
- Lactose-free milks, such as LactoFree
And if you are missing cheese, but don’t like the taste of the usual pungent and smelly goat’s cheese varieties. Why not try:
- Traditional Greek feta (check the label to make sure they are not made with cow’s milk)
- Hard cheeses such as Manchego cheese (a cheese from Spain made of sheep milk) and Bonnet (an Ayrshire cheese made from goats milk).
- and blue cheeses like Lanark Blue.
NB if you have an actual milk allergy, ie are allergic to casein (milk protein), you will need to avoid lactose-free milk and goats and sheep’s milk too.